Basements and Convertibles

Microblog_Mondays

It was an emotional weekend.

There is something so final about cleaning out the furthest reaches of your late mom’s house. Everything there still has some memory attached. My two sisters and I were quiet or chatted about superficial things while we bagged up what was in the basement on Saturday.

That night we talked and had fun and I generally let go of some things.

Sunday morning came along and we still had much to go through. Most of this stuff was going to be what really reminded me of mom: her Christmas ornaments. I didn’t want to start.

None of us did.

Then, my sister H and I looked out the window at my nieces adorable VW Bug convertible and asked if we could take it for a ride. Sure!

Off we went, we put the top down after a minute.

We drove for 30 minutes with the top down, in the 32 degree windy weather, heat on, heated seats on, just… driving and generally having a really good time.

I wish S had come with us.

We needed that ride.

2014-11-02 10.17.14

4 responses to this post.

  1. Gorgeous. I’m glad you took that ride, too. xoxo

    Reply

  2. What a hard hard day. I’m sorry that you have to go through that stuff, but glad you got out for the ride.

    Reply

  3. I’m dreading having to do that. Each time I visit my mother, I see it’s getting closer. So I’m glad you had some release (even if it was cold) that allowed you to relax.

    Reply

  4. I’m so sorry for the loss of your mom. That is hard event. My upcoming trip to my hometown will be the first time back since my mom’s funeral 3 years ago and I’m not sure what to think or how to feel. My sister still lives where my mom did. Memories, the good and bad, mostly good, some easy and others painful. *hugs* Time does heal, but never fully takes it all away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

