Lindsey Lou is Two!

This morning I heard her talking to K, “Mommy, mooooommmmmieeeee, mommymommymommy! Daddy, daaaaaddddieeeee, daddydaddydaddy”. K laughs.

These are the sounds I hear in my daughters’ room. The volume, words, and sometimes urgency fluctuates. However, that is the norm these days.

Today, Lindsey is two.

Two.

My mind boggles at this concept. How this is possible. I remember being up with her when she was about a month old. She was crying and crying and I couldn’t get her to calm down. She was fed, she was dry, she should be sleeping! Her head was resting on my shoulder as I walked around our bedroom, bouncing her, thinking maybe gas was the culprit (it was, it always was with her), and she stopped crying very suddenly. I looked down at her, and saw in the glow of the digital clock that she was looking at me, staring at me. Her eyes looked black in the dim light, but her face was round, a hint of hair on her head, her left chubby cheek smooshed on my shoulder. We just stared at each other for what felt like an eternity but in reality was only 30 seconds. I hugged her close and told her it was ok, that mommy was trying to help her feel better. She resumed crying, burped, and went to sleep. I walked over and laid down on the bed, put her on my chest, felt her fuzzy head under my chin and just laid there. I was so exhausted, yet so happy to have her with me, with us.

Last night she woke up at midnight, rare these days. Even rarer is that P and I were up talking about being parents, parenting these two girls. Usually P takes night duty for L, she goes back to sleep quickly for him. Tonight, I gave him a break, he had a hard day with the two of them. I went in, she was standing in her crib, froggy tucked under her arm pit. She called for mommy and then daddy. I tried to get her to lay down she said no: over and over and over. I picked her up, she laid her head on my shoulder. Her crying stopped almost immediately, turning to light heaves, and finally settling into slow breathing. I hugged her, and rubbed her back, whispered in her ear that everything was ok. After an eternity few minutes I gently put her in her crib. Her head laid on the penguin pillow pet that was given to K but that K gave to her. I covered her in the Curious G*eorge blanket my mom had made for K, but somehow ended up in L’s bed. Her eyes opened, she reached for my hand. I laid down next to the crib, gave her, still chubby, cheek a touch. I took my hand away and heard a sigh, and then a snore. I laid on the cold floor, marveling at how amazing she is, how awesome it is to have her in our family.

L is not an easy toddler, terrible two’s really describe her right now. Honestly, I think terrible two’s is a term that came about to describe not first children but SECOND children. It’s all a battle for little L. She wants to do everything K does, and more. She wants everything K has, and more. She wants to do things that physically she just can’t, and she does not want that answer. She’s a girl who knows what she wants and will make sure we all understand how upset she is when that doesn’t happen. Her drive is amazing, she will take a task and work it until she’s done it or SHE decides it is no longer worth the effort. Her language and vocabulary is expanding at lightening speed. She says K’s name, she says headband, she says things and it just makes me laugh to hear them come out of her little peanut mouth. I could watch her all day play with her babies and stuffed animals. She gives her babies kisses when they get a boo boo, she says sorry when you tell her she hurt you, her laugh makes me laugh.

I’m so proud to be her mom. I’m so proud to call her my daughter.

Happy Birthday Lindsey!

Presto Blocks Girl Birthday Invitation
Create funny birthday invitations at Shutterfly.com.
View the entire collection of cards.
2 responses to this post.

  1. Happy Birthday Little Lady! I can’t believe how time flies

    Reply

    • Happy, happy Birthday little Miss LL!! I have moments where I sniff my daughter’s hair and can be taken back to those early, early days.

      Lindsey is a beautiful girl.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

