Holiday Parties and Thrid Trimester Thoughts

Last night J and I went to the mall. I needed to find a dress to wear to the holiday party. As I’ve mentioned before (I think) clothes shopping when pregnant has been very easy for me. Normally, when I’m not pregnant, I go into a store and walk out empty handed. Finding nothing that really fits me or that I really like and want to spend money on. Pregnant, I can walk into those maternity stores and find myself having to choose between 3 or 4 different shirts and at least 3 pairs of pants. So, going into this, I knew I would find a dress. It was just a matter of how many I would have to choose from. By the way, J is a very patient shopping companion but he loves that our maternity store has a nice comfy chair for him to sit in as I try stuff on, he calls it the “man chair”.

I tried on 4 dresses, and came away with only 1 that I liked. Which is a score in my book! I was laughing my ass off though at the other dresses I tried on. Talk about making a person feel “big”. These dresses made me look like I was carrying triplets!! It was hysterical. I had to show J. We both laughed at how big I looked. These dresses looked decent on the rack. Put them on a 9 month pregnant woman however and they look more like potato sacks. Anyway, the one I chose has a great pattern, empire waist, and cute flowy arms. My calves look big because it ends at knee length, but that’s a constant problem I have. My calves are huge and muscular. There is nothing I can do about that. My ankles however, are still ankles and are not swollen one little bit (go me!).

I also walked away with 3 shirts that will take me through the rest of this pregnancy. With the great sale going on the 3 shirts plus the dress only totaled $80. It’s $80 I didn’t want to spend on more maternity clothes but, hey, what can ya do? I’m not going to go all Bri*tany Spea*rs and wear belly shirts to work.

A few symptoms from early pregnancy have returned here in my late 3rd trimester. Nausea. Again, I’m not throwing up but I do feel queasy from time to time. It’s not as bad as it was in the beginning but its there. If I eat, it goes away. Smell aversions. J is in the doghouse again when it comes to cooking pork products (he loves breakfast sausage, even when I’m not pregnant I hate sausage). The smell just sends me into a tailspin of disgust.

I will say, and this may be TMI for some, my bowel movements have never been better. The first trimester was horrid. Filled with constipation. The second and now the third have been fine and “regular”. Better diet, lots of water, and my new constipation fighter is Luc*ky Char*ms. Yep. Those oat bits keep me regular and the marshmallows keep me sane (I can’t stand regular Cheerios anymore). It’s an all around good cereal to have on hand. I ran out of them this morning, I will be trying raisin bran next. Hopefully it will do the same thing but I’ll miss the marshmallowy goodness. After all raisin bran is raisin bran but Luc*ky Char*ms are magically delicious.

I’m off to get some work done, it’s not small feat these days. I have a REALLY hard time concentrating on anything that doesn’t have to do with Little Girl.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by serenity on December 7, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    Oh, you are getting SO close!!!!

    I am sorry to hear that you’re getting the 1st trimester nausea again – ick. (And I am SO with you about the aversion to breakfast sausage. ICK!)

    Hang in there – Little Girl will be here before you know it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

